Vingegaard heads for the crowning Van Aert clock

Double blow for Jumbo-Visma, with the yellow jersey confirmed for the Dane and the Belgian’s victory in the Rocamadour time trial this Saturday.

I’m not expecting a huge surprise, but you never know», slipped Tadej Pogacar on Friday, on the eve of the time trial of the 20th stage, this Saturday. well seen If he didn’t save his time, the Slovenian rider from the United Arab Emirates failed to erase his delay to the yellow jersey Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) on the streets of Rocamadour. The Dane, more than ever at the head of the general classification, is only waiting for Sunday’s consecration, on the Champs Elysees. This Saturday it was his Belgian teammate Wout van Aert who took the stage victory, his third in 2022 and ninth overall. Pogacar second and Vingegaard third.

The fact of the day

Last battle between the leaders of this Tour de France 2022. Matches at different scales for different goals. Between Vingegaard and Pogacar, there was no suspense. The yellow jersey has today confirmed its supremacy without leaving any hope for its runner-up. The Dane has always been ahead of the Slovenian in this time trial, and takes 8 seconds off him at the finish, allowing himself the luxury of getting up in the final stretch.

For the stage win, Filippo Ganna was ”rey” but not enough to fight with the green ogre Wout Van Aert. Starting well before its main competitors, the Italian TGV did not have the advantage of knowing the passage times of its rivals. finish 5e of this time trial behind his colleague Geraint Thomas (Ineos) who wanted to apply himself in these 40.7 kilometers of effort. Tadej Pogacar takes 3e places 27 seconds behind Van Aert.

The first Frenchman, Benjamin Thomas (Cofidis) finishes 23rde 3’09 min from the winner of the day. Romain Bardet (DSM) finishes just behind, 24eand get the 7e place in the general classification in favor of Louis Meintjes (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert). David Gaudu finishes 25the and save his 4e place in the general classification.

The number of the day

6. This is the impressive number of stage wins in this 2022 Tour de France for the Jumbo-Visma line-up. The green jersey Wout Van Aert won three with the one of the day, and will try to collect the one of tomorrow at the Champs Elysees. Vingegaard, meanwhile, won two, while France’s Christophe Laporte also took part in this collective coup by raising his arms in Cahors.

Tweet of the day

The winner of the day and green jersey Wout Van Aert in the arms of his teammate and yellow jersey Jonas Vingegaard. Jumbo-Visma’s dominance is impressive in this Tour de France 2022. Concentrated throughout these three weeks, without showing the slightest smile, the two men can finally let their joy shine. The smiles are out!

statement of the day

Jonas Vingegaard, the future winner of this Tour de France 2022:
“I was scared. I didn’t feel like I was taking big risks. I took the wrong angle on a turn. It was, I did really well. After that, I calmed down. I didn’t want to take any more risks and especially not to fall. […] We feel relieved when we reach this stage. We’ll still have to be focused tomorrow but tonight I think we’ll treat ourselves to a glass of champagne. »

picture of the day

In the shot for the stage victory, the yellow jersey Jonas Vingegaard cut the effort 500 meters from the finish line. In any case, he was slightly behind his teammate Wout Van Aert after his small mistake in a corner less than 2km from the finish (the Dane didn’t go far from the fall). This is the first time that Vingegaard shows his emotions. On the line, he seemed to realize his success.

500 meters from the finish line, Jonas Vingegaard stood up, the moment to realize that he was the winner of this Tour de France 2022. panoramic

The classification of this 20th stage:

1. Wout van Aert (BEL/JUM) the 40.7 km in 47:59.
2. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN / THU) at 19 seconds.
3. Tadej Pogacar (SLO/UAE) 27.
4. Geraint Thomas (GBR/INE) 32.
5. Filippo Ganna (ITA/INE) 42.
6. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 1:22.
7. Mattia Cattaneo (ITA/QST) 1:25.
8. Fred Wright (GBR/BAH) 1:32.
9. Maximilian Schachmann (GER/BOR) 1:37.
10. Jan Tratnik (SLO/BAH) 1:48.

General classification:

1. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN/Jumbo) 76:33:57.
2. Tadej Pogacar (SLO/UAE) at 3:34.
3. Geraint Thomas (GBR/INE) 8:13.
4. David Gaudu (FRA/GFJ) 13:56.
5. Aleksandr Vlasov (RUS/BOR) 16:37.
6. Nairo Quintana (COL/ARK) 17:24.
7. Romain Bardet (FRA/DSM) 19:02.
8. Louis Meintjes (RSA/INT) 19:12.
9. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/AST) 23:47.
10. Adam Yates (GBR/INE) 25:43.

Leave a Comment