Tour de Wallonie – Lazkano the 2nd stage, Stannard dethroned Alaphilippe

Held in the Belgian Ardennes and therefore very steep, the 2nd stage of theEthias-Tour de Wallonia it was contested this Sunday between Verviers and Herve (176.8 km). At the end of a very lively race, it’s the Spaniard Listen to Lakzano who proved to be the strongest in the final. Present at the first break of the day, then caught by a group of about fifteen runners at about thirty terminals from the finish line, the puncher of the Team Movistar he found the resources to go alone in the last kilometers and resist the return of Loic Vliegen (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux), who failed 2 seconds behind the winner of this 2nd stage. the spanish Jesus Herrada (Cofidis) took third place (+7″).

Video: Julian Alaphilippe is no longer leading the Tour de Wallonia

Julian Alaphilippe finishes over 8 minutes behind, Guillaume Martin is fifth overall

Not being in the group that was able to return to the first breakaways and to have arrived within the peloton, Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), 71st on the stage in 8’28”, lost his orange jersey – and all his chances for the overall classification – to the Australian Robert Stannard (Alpecin-Deceuninck), fourth (+11″) this Sunday after finishing third the day before at the top of the Mur de Huy. He is 7 and 10 seconds ahead respectively. Matthias Skjelmose Jensen (Trek-Segafredo) and Lorenzo Rota (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert materials). Twelfth of this 2nd stage, William Martin (Cofidis) is fifth overall, 11″ behind Standard.

Julian Alaphilippe takes the bonuses, a breakaway of six riders

Today’s breakout takes time to form, allowing for that Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) to take bonuses in the first intermediate sprint of the day, located after 23 kilometers of racing. The overall leader wins it ahead of his teammate David Ballerini i Robert Stannard (Alpecin-Deceuninck) and therefore pocket 3 bonus seconds. About twenty terminals further on, six men manage to escape from the peloton: the Belgians Victor Campenaerts (Soudal Lotto), Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) and Gianni Vermeersch (Alpecin-Deceuninck), the Spanish Oyer Lazkano (Movistar Team), the British Ben Swift (INEOS Grenadiers) and the Portuguese Ivo Oliveira (UAE Team Emirates).

These six riders lead with almost 5 minutes to go, and the gap is then reduced under the momentum of their teammates in the orange jersey. On the coast of Lorcé (4.2km at 5.8%), the fifth of the day’s seven listed climbs, a trio of Campenaerts, Lazkano i Vermeersch comes out at the head of the race. Then, on the famous Côte de la Redoute (1.5 km at 10.5%), Liège-Bastogne-Liège high place, Gianni Vermeersch cracks in turn, and so there are only two left to open the way. Taken by cofidis of William Martinthe peloton registers around 3 minutes.

Attacking in every direction, Alaphilippe’s Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl cannot control

Once past the Redoubt, a large group of counter-attackers forms, in which we find especially Greg Van Avermaet, Francois Bidard (Team AG2R Citroën), Cian Uijtdebroeks (BORA-hansgrohe), Jesus Herrada (Cofidis), Xandro Meurisse (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Lorenzo Rota (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Materials) i Ben Turner (INEOS Grenadiers). On the coast of Cornesse (1.1 km at 12%), the summit of which is 39 miles from the goal, the counter-attackers are trapped, which gives other runners ideas, the race then completely breaks out.

In the end, 14 men joined the leading duo just over 25 kilometers from Herve: Filippo Baroncini, Matthias Skjelmose Jensen (Trek-Segafredo), Frederick Wandahl (BORA-hansgrohe), William Martin (Cofidis), Ben Healy, James Shaw (EF Education-EasyPost), Loic Vliegen (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert materials), Omer Goldstein (Israel-Premier Tech), Maxim Van Gils, Bad Vanhoucke (Soudal Lotto), Greg Van Avermaet, Cian Uijtdebroeks, Jesus Herrada i Robert Stannard. Put in difficulty by these incessant career movements, the Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team – which he also lost Dries Devenyns during a stage after a crash: regularly loses time on the escape, Julian Alaphilippe be in the process of losing your shirt.

The vanquished peloton, Oier Lazkano leaves and wins!

Other brokers, included Sandy Dujardin (Team TotalEnergies), then leaving a resigned group and trying to join the leading group, but within the latter things are moving fast. William Martin even goes on the attack, just like Frederick Wandahl a little later, but it’s… Oyer Lazakano – which still has freshness despite its presence at the initial break- which manages to distance itself from its opponents. The Spaniard approaches the last stroke a few seconds ahead of his former runaway teammates. Loic Vliegen i Jesus Herrada he set off in pursuit, but it is too late, and in fact he is the runner of the Team Movistar who raises his arms towards Herve. Having let go Jesus Herrada in the last meters, They fly takes second place. Fourth, Robert Stannard becomes leader ofEthias-Tour de Wallonia to the detriment of Julian Alpahilippe.

Leave a Comment