Lazkano wins stage two, Alaphilippe loses his leader’s jersey

5:31 p.m

This is the end of this live. Thanks for following us. And see you tomorrow for the third stage of the Tour de Wallonia!

5:31 p.m

Julian Alaphilippe is no longer the leader of the general classification

Winner of Saturday’s first stage, Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step) finished with the peloton this Sunday. He lost the mantle of overall leader to the Australian Robert Stannard (Alpecin – Deceuninck).

5:04 p.m

the podium

1/ Oier Lazkano (Movistar)

2/ Loïc Vliegen (Intermarché)

3/ Jose Herrada (Cofidis)

5:02 p.m

Oier Lazkano wins solo!

The Spaniard from Movistar was very active today. And it was rewarded: he won after an attack in the last kilometers, just ahead of a group of counter-attackers.

4:57 p.m

🏁 1km: Smells good in Lazkano!

4:55 p.m

Oier Lazkano takes off!

🏁 4 km: the Movistar pilot mounted an attack on the leading group. He now has a 20” lead.

4:52 p.m

Wandahl is back!

🏁 8 km : Bora runner is trapped. Therefore, there are now 16 at the top, with Guillaume Martin, the Frenchman from Cofidis, among others.

4:50 p.m

Frederik Wandahl launches an attack

🏁 10 km : after Guillaume Martin, it is the turn of the Bora rider to go on the attack. The 16 leaders have 2’30” in the peloton. The winner of the day should be among these men.

4:45 p.m

Guillaume Martin’s attack!

🏁 16 km: the Frenchman from Cofidis, who had to withdraw from the Tour de France after testing positive for Covid-19, attacked the leading group!

4:39 p.m

Seven men against!

🏁 20km: A counter formed behind the top 16 men. It consists of Ludvigsson, Van Asbroeck, Trentin, Peyskens, Van Rooy, Dujardin and Marchand. They are 55” from the peloton.

4:36 p.m

The escape takes off

🏁 22 km : the 16 leaders take off, now 1’45” ahead of the peloton. It is worth noting the presence of Cofidis’s French Guillaume Martin in this group.

4:33 p.m

The 16 main men

Filippo Baroncini (Trek)

Matthias Jensen (Trek)

Greg Van Avermaet (AG2R – Citroën)

Frederick Wandahl

Cian Uijtdebroeks

Jesus Herrada

William Martin

Ben Healy

James Shaw

Loic Vliegen

Omer Goldstein

Victor Campenaerts (lottery)

Maxim Van Gils (lottery)

Harm Vanhoucke (lottery)

Oier Lazkano (Movistar)

Robert Stannard

Oyer Lazkano

4:27 p.m

16 men at the top!

🏁 26 km : the 14 riders who started against a few kilometers ago have already taken charge of the two escapees, Victor Campenaerts (Lotto) and Oier Lazkano (Movistar). They are now 16 in the lead, 45” ahead of the peloton.

4:25 p.m

The peloton accelerates!

🏁 27 km: the peloton has decided to pass the fifth. The gap to the two leading men is like snow in the sun – it’s now 45 seconds.

4:23 p.m

Campenaerts ahead in the intermediate sprint

🏁 28 km: the Belgian has just taken the lead in the penultimate intermediate sprint of the day, ahead of his escape partner, Oier Lazkano.

4:21 p.m

14 runners go on the offensive!

🏁 29 km : the end of the stage comes to life! Now there are 14 runners who have just left at the head of the peloton. They have already taken a twenty second lead.

4:17 p.m

The pursuers caught by the peloton

🏁 30 km: we are entering the end of this stage. The peloton is not determined to let men escape ahead. He stepped on the throttle. The thirteen pursuers pay the price and are caught. They had never managed to take a substantial lead. The advantage over the two leaders stagnates: it is 2’10”.

4:14 p.m

The fugitives pass the coast of Cornesse

🏁 32 km: Víctor Campenaerts (Lotto) takes the lead ahead of his teammate Oier Lazkano (Movistar). In the pursuit group, Cian Uijtdebroeks overtook Greg Van Avermaet and Lorenzo Rota.

4:03 p.m

The gap is closing for the leading duo

🏁 40 km: Victor Campenaerts (Lotto) and Oier Lazkano (Movistar) lose their lead over the peloton. His mattress is now 2’10”, and 1’49 in the chase group. The duo head to the next climb of the day: the Côte de Cornesse (1.2km, 10.1%).

3:56 p.m

He moves to the front of the pack!

🏁 47 km: 13 riders accelerate at the front of the peloton after the Côte de la Redoute: Filippo Baroncini, Greg Van Avermaet, Frederik Wandahl, Cian Uijtdebroeks, Jesus Herrada, François Bidard, Ben Healy, Ben Turner, Lorenzo Rota, Omer Goldstein, Harm Vanhoucke, Xandro Meurisse and Gianni Vermeersch.

3:49 p.m

More than four men ahead!

🏁 51 km : members of the morning breakaway, Ben Swift (Ineos-Grenadiers) and Ivo Oliveira (UAE) were dropped by their little comrades on the fifth climb of the day. They have just been caught by the peloton who are 2’35” behind the infernal duo formed by Victor Campenaerts (Lotto) and Oier Lazkano (Movistar)

3:45 p.m

Víctor Campenaerts still on the attack!

🏁 54 km : the Belgian is definitely on his feet this Sunday. The Lotto driver launched a new offensive in the leading group during the climb to Redoute. Only Oier Lazkano managed to follow him. Gianni Vermeersch fell next to him. These two men are 2’35” ahead of the peloton.

3:36 p.m

Make way for the Redoubt!

🏁 60 km: the three protagonists will soon attack the Côte de la Redoute (1.6 km, 9.2%), the sixth ascent of the day. It is an emblematic Liège-Bastonne-Liège climb. She could make a difference today.

3:32 p.m

The break is breaking again

🏁 63.8 km: now there are three in the lead: Victor Campenaerts (Lotto), Oier Lazkano (Movistar) and Gianni Vermeersch (Alpecin-Deceuninck). Behind them, three men are released: Ivo Oliveira (UAE), Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) and Ben Swift (Ineos-Grenadiers).

3:25 p.m

The escape to the top of the fifth ascent of the day

🚩 71 km: the six leaders have just crossed the Côte de Lorcé (4.2 km, 5.6%), the fifth ascent of the day. The Belgian Victor Campenaerts (Lotto) took the opportunity to place an acceleration in the leading group. Two riders could not follow: Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) and Ben Swift (Ineos-Grenadiers). The four breakaways are now 50” ahead of the two pursuers and 2’31” over the peloton.

3:18 p.m

The Six Runaways

Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)

Ben Swift (Ineos-Grenadiers)

Victor Campenaerts (lottery)

Oier Lazkano (Movistar)

Ivo Oliveira (United Arab Emirates)

Gianni Vermeersch (Alpecin-Deceuninck)

3:15 p.m

Race update

76 km from the finish line, six men lead the race. But the peloton got the lead which stalled at 2’31”.

3:12 p.m

The stage profile

It takes place between Verviers and Herve and is 176 kilometers long. With an elevation gain of 2907 meters, this stage could be suitable for a puncher. The Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step), winner yesterday at the Mur de Huy and first overall, is one of the favourites.

3:05 p.m

Hello! And welcome to this live broadcast to follow the second stage of the Tour de Wallonia.

Leave a Comment