Formula 1 | Presentation and calendar of the 2022 Austrian F1 Grand Prix

For the first time since 2019, the Red Bull Ring hosts only one F1 race this year. Goodbye to the Styrian Grand Prix, only the Austrian GP will take place, and it is this weekend that Formula 1 goes there.

Last year, Max Verstappen and Red Bull flew over the two weekends, while Mercedes set the time. This year, the physiognomy is different, and F1 arrives in Austria a little dazed, after the accident at the exit at Silverstone.

The sports bet doesn’t lose interest, but everyone knows that a catastrophe for Guanyu Zhou has been averted this Sunday. It is with the hope that the weekend goes smoothly that the paddock goes to the Red Bull Ring.

This will be the second Sprint Race of the season, after Imola. This is the first time that the Austrian track has hosted this event and, obviously, Red Bull will want to score the total – representing 59 points – at home.

The route

It is not the shortest route of the season, nor the fastest, but the one that is done in less time. Last year, Valtteri Bottas reached pole position at 1’03 “130, an average of almost 247 km / h. This makes it one of the fastest circuits.

It is just over 4 miles long and only has 8 bends, which is also a record of the season. After the start straight, a 4th gear bend leads to a curved straight that goes largely flat, before a fork leading to another straight.

These three straights will still have a DRS zone this season, and each zone will have its own detection point. After a new turn in the second, there is a double left in support, and a long left-right that returns to the last two curves, the peculiarity of which is to have an inverted camber.

If the first of the two is slightly curved outwards, the second is inwards and allows a very fast arrival to the straight of the pits.

The forces present

With developments brought by everyone in England, Ferrari seems to have recovered a bit from its race pace at Red Bull. Charles Leclerc’s performances were impressive at Silverstone, but the Squad will have to correct their strategic setbacks.

Behind the two benchmarks, Mercedes F1 will be eager to consolidate its progress, having been able to fight very close to the two leading teams for most of the weekend in Britain.

The field saw Alpine F1 and McLaren battling behind the top three teams at Silverstone, and both teams will once again try to outdo each other to earn points towards fourth place in the championship.

Schedule of the Austrian F1 Grand Prix

– Friday, July 8

13: 30-14: 30: Free workouts 1

17: 00-18: 00: Classification

– Saturday 9 July

12: 30-13: 30: Free workouts 3

16: 30-17: 00: Sprint Race

– Sunday 10 July

15: 00h-17: 00h: Race

The winners of the Austrian and Styrian Grand Prix

Course Circuit Winner Equipment – Engine
1963 Zeltweg Jack Brabham Brabham-Climax
1964 Zeltweg Lorenzo Bandini Ferrari
1970 Osterreichring Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1971 Osterreichring Josep Siffert BRM
1972 Osterreichring Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus-Ford
1973 Osterreichring Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford
1974 Osterreichring Carlos Reutemann Brabham Ford
1975 Osterreichring Vittorio Brambilla March Ford
1976 Osterreichring John Watson Penske Ford
1977 Osterreichring Alan Jones Shadow Ford
1978 Osterreichring Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford
1979 Osterreichring Alan Jones Williams Ford
1980 Osterreichring Jean-Pierre Jabouille Renault
nineteen eighty-one Osterreichring Jacques Laffite Ligier-Matra
1982 Osterreichring Elio DeAngelis Lotus-Ford
1983 Osterreichring Alain Prost Renault
1984 Osterreichring Niki Lauda McLaren-TAG
1985 Osterreichring Alain Prost McLaren-TAG
1986 Osterreichring Alain Prost McLaren-TAG
1987 Osterreichring Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda
1997 A1-Ring Jacques Villeneuve Williams Renault
1998 A1-Ring Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes
1999 A1-Ring Eddie Irvine Ferrari
2000 A1-Ring Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes
2001 A1-Ring David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes
2002 A1-Ring Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 A1-Ring Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2014 Red Bull Ring Nico Rosberg mercedes
2015 Red Bull Ring Nico Rosberg mercedes
2016 Red Bull Ring Lewis Hamilton mercedes
2017 Red Bull Ring Valtteri Bottas mercedes
2018 Red Bull Ring Max Verstappen Red Bull Renault
2019 Red Bull Ring Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda
2020 Red Bull Ring Valtteri Bottas mercedes
2020 Red Bull Ring (Styria) Lewis Hamilton mercedes
2021 Red Bull Ring (Styria) Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda
2021 Red Bull Ring Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda

Leave a Comment