Formula 1 | Official: Alonso receives a 5 second penalty and loses 2 places

Fernando Alonso was sanctioned by FIA race commissioners after the arrival of the Canadian Grand Prix. The Alpine F1 driver was found guilty of zigzagging ahead of Valtteri Bottas at the end of the race, and the decision of the commissioners’ office explains that this is a violation of Article 2b ) of Chapter IV, Appendix L, of the FIA ​​International Sporting. Codi.

“Between corners 10 and 12, on the penultimate lap of the race, car 14 made repeated changes of direction to defend itself from car 77, which had to release the accelerator at some point and lost momentum briefly. “.

“While they take into account the driver’s argument that at no time was car 77 next to car 14, the commissioners consider that this is a clear breach of the previous regulations. Therefore, the commissioners impose a 5-second penalty in line with the one imposed for an incident similar to the 2022 Australian GP “.

This penalty suits Alfa Romeo F1, with Bottas in seventh place and Guanyu Zhou in eighth. Alpine and Alfa Romeo neutralize each other and get the same number of points in Canada, with ten points each. Alpine is eight points behind McLaren and six points ahead of Alfa Romeo.

There are no penalties for Vettel

For his part, Sebastian Vettel was accused of failing to comply with the security car procedure. This investigation had led Aston Martin F1 to ask him to let Lance Stroll pass, who finished tenth. But the German was not punished for leaving more than ten lengths behind the car in front of him.

“After initially approaching the front car as part of the safety car procedure for a while, car 5 did not comply with the 10 length rule. However, towards the end of the safety car period , compensated for the gap and then maintained the required position until the race resumed “.

“Commissioners also point out that there were other drivers who violated the 10-car rule at various points in the proceedings, but all complied at the end of the security period. Car. Commissioners therefore conclude that a penalty for The car 5 is not appropriate in these circumstances. “

The final classification of the race

pos. Pilot Car Crack Stops
01 Max Verstappen Red Bull RBPT RB18 70 lapses – 1h36m21.757s 2
02 carlos sainz Ferrari F1-75 +0.993 2
03 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes W13 +7.006 2
04 george russell Mercedes W13 +12.313 2
05 Charles Leclerc Ferrari F1-75 +15.168 1
06 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault A522 +23,890 2
07 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 +25,247 1
08 Guanyu-Zhou Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 +26,952 2
09 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault A522 +29,945 (+ 5s) 2
10 Passeig de Llança Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 +38.222 1
11 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes MCL36 +43,047 2
12 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 +44,245 2
13 Alex Albon Williams Mercedes FW44 +44,893 2
14 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 +45.183 2
15 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes MCL36 +52,145 2
16 Nicolau Latifi Williams Mercedes FW44 +59,978 2
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari VF-22 +68.180 1
18 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 DNF 2
19 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari VF-22 DNF 0
20 Sergio Pérez Red Bull RBPT RB18 DNF 0

Leave a Comment