first French victory with Christophe Laporte

The French pilot Jumbo-Visma won with strength and serenity this Friday in Cahors, at the end of the 19th stage of the Grande Boucle.

The fact of the day

A stage with an amazing sequence and ending. On the roads of the Hautes-Pyrénées, Gers, Tarn-et-Garonne and Lot, the sprint teams had fun all afternoon with the various escapes. After a few kilometers of racing, five men managed to escape: Nils Politt (Bora-Hansgrohe), Mikkel Honoré (Quick-Step – Alpha Vinyl), Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Victorious), Taco Van der Hoorn (Intermarché- Wanty -). Gobert) and Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo). Despite their efforts, and their intrinsic qualities as pilots, they never had an advantage superior to 1’30”; and this even after the short neutralization of the race that occurred 157 kilometers from the finish after a new demonstration on the public road.

The race was neutralized for a few minutes. panoramic

Even so, the peloton is back on the heels, Nils Politt (Bora-Hansgrohe) took the opportunity to leave his four teammates alone at the front. In the last third of the stage, with the two 4th category climbs, the break was broken. Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo) gave himself a little solo raid in particular to win the award for the most combative of the day. Once caught, Alexis Gougeard (B&B Hotels-KTM) fought back, followed by Fred Wright (Bahrain-Victorious) and Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo). The three men managed to make some progress. In the process, the elusive Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) also tried his luck in a relegation, but the Slovenian was brought back to reality by incredible yellow jersey teammate Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma). You have to emphasize your desire.

In the final, the battle between the peloton and the breakaway of three riders was very intense. The sprinters’ teams worked hard so that the distance did not exceed 30”. But in the last kilometers, the peloton managed to rally. Shortly before, practically under the red flame, Christophe Laporte, taking advantage of the lack of organization, made the “leap” to return to the leaders. Before launching himself from far away and raising his arms alone through the streets of Cahors on top of a false floor trying. From behind, Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) settled the group ahead of Alberto Dainese (Team DSM). French champion Florian Sénéchal (Quick-Step – Alpha Vinyl) finished 4th, just ahead of Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), who was 5” clear of Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma). But no alteration should be reported in the general classification, or in any other classification for that matter.

The number of the day

1. This Friday, in the streets of Cahors, at the top of a false flat that goes up a kilometer, Christophe Laporte has achieved the first French victory of this Tour de France 2022. Since the great start in Copenhagen, the Tricolors have not yet they had deserved, but each time they had fallen stronger than them. This success allows the French not to finish the Grande Boucle empty-handed, as was the case in 1926 and 1999.

Tweet of the day

Some show inventiveness alongside the roads of the Tour de France. This 19e The stage, between Castelnau-Magnoac and Cahors, has once again demonstrated this. Located in the Garonne, at the height of a bridge, a spectator had fun watching the runners pass by while riding on his “flyboard“. A very original way to attend the Grande Boucle.

statement of the day

Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma), winner of the 19th stage of the Tour de France in Cahors : “I’m super happy. It’s hard for me to realize. Wout Van Aert told me: “Today is for you.” The last time he told me this was in Paris-Nice, I guess that brings me luck. 1.5 kilometers from the finish I made the jump to go back to those in front. I shot from afar so it wouldn’t come back. And he did. It’s incredible. It’s more than a reward, it’s huge! »

picture of the day

Leaving Castelnau-Magnoac, in the Hautes-Pyrénées department, the runners crossed the town of Auch, in the Gers. The opportunity for the Tour de France to pay tribute to Nicolas Portal, former AG2R Prévoyance rider and former Sporting Director of Sky (then Ineos), who died of a heart attack in March 2020, aged 40 . Moving.

The classification of the stage

1. Christophe Laporte (FRA / JUM) the 188.3 km in 3 h 52:04.

2. Jasper Philipsen (BEL / ALP) at 1 second.

3. Alberto Dainese (ITA/DSM) 1.

4. Florian Senechal (FRA / QST) 1.

5. Tadej Pogacar (SLO/UAE) 1.

6. Amaury Capiot (BEL/ARK) 1.

7. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/BIK) 1.

8. Hugo Hofstetter (FRA/ARK) 1.

9. Luka Mezgec (SLO/BIK) 1.

10. Caleb Ewan (AUS/LOT) 1.

11. Alberto Bettiol (ITA/EF1) 1.

12. Alexander Vlasov (RUS/BOR) 6.

13. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN/THU) 6.

14. Geraint Thomas (GBR/INE) 6.

15. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/INT) 6.

16. David Gaudu (FRA/GFJ) 6.

17. Yves Lampaert (BEL/QST) 6.

18. Fred Wright (GBR/BAH) 6.

19. Simone Velasco (ITA/AST) 6.

20. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA/INT) 6.

The general classification at the end of the 19th stage

1. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN/Jumbo) 75:45:44.

2. Tadej Pogacar (SLO / United Arab Emirates) at 3:21.

3. Geraint Thomas (GBR/INE) 8:00.

4. David Gaudu (FRA/GFJ) 11:05.

5. Nairo Quintana (COL/ARK) 13:35.

6. Louis Meintjes (RSA/INT) 13:43.

7. Alexander Vlasov (RUS/BOR) 14:10.

8. Romain Bardet (FRA/DSM) 16:11.

9. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/AST) 20:24.

10. Adam Yates (GBR/INE) 20:32.

11. Valentin Madouas (FRA / GFJ) 33:42.

12. Bob Jungels (LUX/AG2) 42:42.

13. Neilson Powless (USA/EF1) 45:17.

14. Thibaut Pinot (FRA / GFJ) 46:28.

15. Luis León Sánchez (ESP/BAH) 47:22.

16. Patrick Konrad (AUT/BOR) 51:53.

17. Thomas Pidcock (GBR/INE) 54:47.

18. Sepp Kuss (USA/JUM) 58:50.

19. Dylan Teuns (BEL/BAH) 1:08:21 am

20. Brandon McNulty (USA/UAE) 1:26:00.

Tour de France records

Tour de France records

Go to slideshow (8)

Leave a Comment